Style Icon Interview: Fashion Writer Felicia Walker Benson

As a makeup expert, style/beauty writer and Goodwill fan, Felicia Walker Benson pours her heart and soul into her passion for all things fashion and beauty related. Felicia is Editor in Chief for the popular fashion-lifestyle blog ThisThatBeauty, as well as a Beauty Expert for Examiner.com, the New York Correspondent for The Makeup Girl and a contributing writer for Essence.com and LVCMag.com.

Beauty Expert, Style/Beauty Blogger & GoodwillNyNj Style Icon, Felicia Walker Benson

We were recently lucky enough to chat with Felicia – and the combination of her sense of humor and her sense of fashion has us 100% convinced that this smart, stylish beauty is every bit the perfect GoodwillNyNj Style Icon.

We hope you enjoy Part One of GoodwillNyNj’s newest Style Icon Interview:

Hi Felicia! So how did you first get interested in the world of beauty and fashion?

I have been a card carrying beauty devotee for as far back as I can recall. Don’t most kids spend their allowance at the local beauty supply store? From hair care, to skin care, makeup, fragrance and everything in between…I’ve had an affinity for beauty ever since I was a wee lad.

With respect to fashion, I began working in a professional job fairly early on. At that time, my responsibilities and profile within the company were significant but my disposable income, ahem, was not. I had to get rather creative when it came to piecing together ensembles and fitting in with my corporate counterparts.

While I’ve always had a very strong sense of personal style and an eye for interpreting trends, working in an uber professional environment while still in college encouraged me to stretch my talents and work miracles on a shoe string budget!

What does “style” mean to you?

Statement piece accessories, the perfect LBD, and killer Louboutins are great, but that’s window draping — not style. Style is understanding who you are at your core and allowing that to resonate. While apparel is a component of style, it does not start and stop there. Style is reflected in how you carry yourself. Style is not defined by labels. In fact, the most important label, with respect to style, is label “YOU”. Personal style is a branding tool. It announces your aspirations and accomplishments!

Now, we asked our Facebook fans this, so it’s only fair we ask you, too: Who do you wish would donate their entire wardrobe to a Goodwill near you? (Supermodels, big sisters, rock stars, and politicos are all fair game…)

Oh jeez Louise! I would absolutely die a thousand deaths if Diane Von Furstenberg sent a trailer load of can’t-miss essentials to my local Goodwill. I would be rendered partially comatose if I walked into my local Goodwill and found a rack labeled “From The Set of Grey Gardens”. I would give a limb (any limb) if I were offered first dibs on Tracy Ellis Ross’ Goodwill donation (clothes from both her personal life and from the set of “Girlfriends). Tracy Ellis Ross actually comes with a bonus as I imagine her Goodwill stash would undoubtedly include frocks Momma Diana.  Jackie O is cliche but you can not deny her classic good taste. Lastly, Victoria Beckham would be my choice for aspirational wares.

What’s your favorite Goodwill find?

I recently snagged a rather saucy little silk Jersey geometric pattern Laundry dress for about $8. New, with tags!

Why do you shop at Goodwill?

Well, uh, you see, there’s this little thing called the “recession” right now so….
Seriously, I enjoy the thrill of the hunt! From time to time I afford myself the luxury of shopping non-sale items…some finds are too good to wait for a price reduction. However, I love shopping Goodwill because its like a “box of chocolates”. Other than a great deal, you honest to God never know what you’re going to get…and that thrills me to no end!

Have you ever donated to Goodwill?

Yes and often. After Mama ThisThatBeauty gets her cut the rest gets carted to my local Goodwill. Hello tax deduction!

Add http://www.thisthatbeauty.com to your must-read blog list & see how much more beautiful life can be!

Pretty inspiring, doncha think? Don’t forget to check in next week for Part Two of the interview. In the meantime, keep sharing your great finds and style tips with us onTwitter and Facebook – we love hearing from you!

6 thoughts on “Style Icon Interview: Fashion Writer Felicia Walker Benson

Leave a comment