Warm Things: This Week on Inside the Prop Closet

With autumnal chill coming, it’s important to get snuggle-ready. For me, any days with weather under 70 degrees is a test of survival. I really, really don’t like being cold. Shawls, scarves, and hats are my go-to companions, there to reassure my goose bumps and chattering teeth that everything will be OK.

All of my favorite autumn and winter accessories have come from thrift stores. I’ve always been a fan of super-big shawls and scarves – the bigger the better. Though I haven’t bought some in a while, it’s always a treasure when I spot one I like.

Even if you have to go outside, you don’t have to leave the bed. Wrap up under warm, thrifted things. Cashmere, Angora blends, even a good acrylic knit can be just the thing to transform work commutes from dreadful to bearable.

image3

And don’t forget the head and feet. I’ve been drawn to baseball caps lately, but that trend will likely switch to knit hats when temperatures begin dropping drastically. Plus, warm socks under thick boots is a bit of heaven for my toes.

image5
072115_Selfie

David Leon Morgan is a Bronx-based creative storyteller and crafter. He loves to crochet, sing extremely loudly in the shower and help others share their story in creative ways. Learn more about him and his work at http://davidleonmorgan.com

When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

One thought on “Warm Things: This Week on Inside the Prop Closet

Leave a comment