Style Icon Interview: The Fly Patrice J. Williams

Patrice J. Williams is about as fly as they come. This girl is versed in chic-for-cheap even beyond her wardrobe wisdom, and her blog, Looking Fly on a Dime, covers everything from travel to beauty to cuisine. Patrice really is blogging proof that one woman can have it all. We’d be crazy not to spotlight this incredible deal diva as our newest GoodwillNyNj Style Icon!

Introducing our newest GoodwillNyNj Style Icon, Patrice J. Williams!

We got the chance to chat with Patrice about her style, her thrifting, and Living Fly on a Dime earlier this week. We hope you enjoy her as much as we did!

How did you first get interested in thrifting? Were you raised to reimagine fashion as a youngin’ or did this passion come later in life?

I got interested in thrifting as a sophomore in college. I had to attend an induction ceremony for an honor society and I had nothing to wear and no money! I made a trip to a thrift store and I was able to put together an entire outfit for less than $20. After that, I was hooked on the awesomeness of thrifting.

How would you describe your own personal style?

I adore anything with ruffles, sequins and bows but I also love a great pair of jeans. I guess I’d describe my every day style as casual chic. If I’m wearing one show stopping item, I like to keep the rest of my look simple.

What role does your budget play in shaping your own personal style?

Budget has never shaped my style. Though I’ve been low of funds and living in a major city is crazy expensive, I’ve never had to sacrifice style due to a lack of cash. If anything, it’s made me more creative.

What does “style” mean to you?

Anyone can be fashionable but style is more intrinsic and innate. It’s a personal expression of who you are or your mood.

Where do you find your fashion inspiration today?

My fashion inspiration comes from everywhere. People watching in the Village. Fashion magazines. Old family photos. Inspiration is all around.

We know you’re based in New York, and so are we (though we do have a few incredible stores in Northern New Jersey)! What do you think defines New York style?

New York has a I-don’t-give-a-darn style. New Yorkers have seen it all and nothing shocks us so it’s not unusual to see someone walking down the street wearing an outlandish outfit. I feel that gives us license to really express our style and wear what feels right, no matter how crazy it may look.

Do you think a New York & Northern New Jersey Goodwill would be any different than another city or state’s Goodwill? If so, how? If not, why not?

New York Goodwills are different in that the variety is amazing. NYC is an absolute melting pop so you’re bound to find everything from modern, designer pieces to a vintage-y grandma sweater all in the same shop. That variety means no matter what you’re style, you’re bound to find something.

When you go thrift shopping, what do you always try to keep in mind – and keep an eye out for?

I keep in mind that it’s NYC and everyone’s looking for a bargain so I prepare myself for a crowd. I just crank up the tunes on my iPod and come with tons of patience. I always try to keep an eye out for certain colors or fabrics. The large stores can be a bit overwhelming (even for an avid thrifter) but when I keep a sharp eye out for bold colors or patterns, they automatically catch my eye and make shopping a bit easier.

Do you have a favorite Goodwill? Have you found any Goodwills to be especially stocked with prime finds?

My fave Goodwill by far is the outlet in Long Island City. I discovered it about a year ago and I was amazed at the selection and that clothes were priced by the pound. I’ve walked out with a big bag of clothes for $15. I don’t just love the designer duds, but also the home goods and vinyl records have helped me decorate my apartment.

*

Home, media, wardrobe? The triple-thrift-threat sounds good to us! Don’t forget to check in next week for Part Two of our interview with the thriftastic Ms. Williams. In the meantime, let us know if you, too, shop at Goodwill. Come tell us on Twitter and Facebook – we love hearing from you!

8 thoughts on “Style Icon Interview: The Fly Patrice J. Williams

  1. Sharon Gillson says:

    Love what you do. Already love thrifting; but mostly household items. You inspire me to go one step further and look for clothing;especially classic and vintage pieces.

    P.S. Saw you on Nate Berkus show today. Love that show!

    Like

Leave a comment