3 Reasons Why Thrifting is Cooler with TheFabJunkie


sumaagoodlookbiopic

 

Suma Kaul, The Fab Junkie

A Good Look Contributor


 

When some people think thrift shopping they think large warehouse like stores with crappy lighting and mothball infested scents.

No, I totally understand that feeling and just want to tell you that it’s a huge misconception of thrift stores. It’s no secret that I’m a certified thrifter (and proud of it) but there are many reasons why I love to shop second hand. Don’t worry, I’m going to explain them all. Shopping second hand saves the environment (less trash), supports your community and you never know what you will find! Check out my 3 reasons.

 
Reason #1
Uniqueness: I mean, who’s really going to walk into work/school with that floral dress you picked up at Goodwill? No one. I  repeat, no one. You can take clothing that was once forgotten and make it your own in so many different ways. I picked up this basic denim jacket that was made in the 90’s  and shredded the back and arms to make it my own. It’s one of my favorite items in my closet. There’s room to experiment with DIY projects because the cost is so low.
Goodwill1.jpeg
 
Reason #2
Cost Effective: I’m not sure if I need to explain this but you’re basically saving yourself tons of money. You can shop on a budget and find those one of a kind pieces AND on trend items in your local thrift shop for MUCH LESS. I found this dress below for under $10 and I wore it all summer. You save money on your clothes, which then allows you to spend it on sushi or whatever your guilty pleasure is. 
goodwill2.jpeg
 
Reason #3
Supporting Your Community: When shopping at your local Goodwill or Thrift Shop you’re supporting your community. The people that work in those stores are people who live in your community and what better way to give back? Goodwill has many different community based projects like low income housing and after-school programs that are funded by your purchase in their stores. I bet you didn’t know that. 
 
Thrift shopping can be an acquired taste because of the stereotypes that revolve around it. The benefits of shopping in your local thrift store go beyond just my simple three reasons. Just think that it’s better to know where your money is going then to give it away to larger corporations where I honestly have no clue to where it goes. Until next time.
Suma Kaul is a NYC-based fashion, beauty and lifestyle blogger from TheFabJunkie.com. She loves thrifting and making something old new again. 

When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Because your purchases support Goodwill’s programs and services. Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

Leave a Reply

