DIY Hi-Lo Frayed Denim Hem


sumaagoodlookbiopic

 

Suma KaulThe Fab Junkie

A Good Look Contributor


 

I’m obsessed with denim. I’m always wearing it and always thinking of new ways to create DIY’s.  Lately, I’ve seen many bloggers and influencers sporting the Hi-Lo denim trend. So it was clear that my next project would involve recreating this.

I stopped in my local Goodwill Store in New Rochelle a few days ago. I can always count on finding a few gems. I started hunting for a pair of straight leg denim. Lucky for  me, I found a brand new (with tags) pair of GAP jeans. I snatched them up and ran to the register (maybe I walked). Check out my easy peasy DIY.

 

Here’s what you will need:

 

unknown-10

 

Using my eye and index finger (because I’ve cut up so many pairs of denim but you can mark your pair if that makes you feel comfortable) I visually marked how high I thought I would cut.

unknown-9

First, I cut the hem off (about an inch). You can always cut more depending on your height. Then I cut upwards using the seam as a guide. I cut both sides of the seam making sure to only cut the front layer of the pant leg.

 

unknown-8

 

unknown-7

unknown-6

 

Now you will now need to cut across. You will be basically creating a denim rectangle.

unknown-5

unknown-4

Use the rectangle as a guide for the other leg.

unknown-3

After completing both legs you can pull some threads out to give you the frayed look.

Pro Tip: Throw the denim in the washing machine to loosen up them hem a bit more.

 

unknown-2

Voila! You’re done and now ready to rock your frayed denim!

unknown-1

Tag Goodwill on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram with #GoodwillNYNJ

Suma Kaul is a NYC-based fashion, beauty and lifestyle blogger from TheFabJunkie.com. She loves thrifting and making something old new again. 
When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

2 thoughts on “DIY Hi-Lo Frayed Denim Hem

Leave a Reply

