How to Walk Into Prom w/ @StylingStingy

By Al Green, stylingstingy.com

With women’s and men’s wear complete, let’s closeout the series with: footwear!

A lot of prom shoppers find it hard to settle on thrifted footwear. This is because of the negativity surrounding thrift shoes. Some say, they’re cheap & also very hard to find. But, with my latest Goodwill visit I put both of those rumors to rest.

Recently, I visited two Goodwill locations to be. One in my home town, and another down the street from an old job. I decided to look for women’s shoe & men’s shoe. Two shoes that are extremely comfortable but also very likely to standout. That’s exactly what I found during my Goodwill search. 

IMG_1983.JPG

The first pair of shoes I graced my eyes on were a women pair. They cost a total of $10, and seemed to be very comfortable & also durable. When I grabbed it, a few customers gazed at my hands as well. So, that made me think that I had a very good pair & also very good taste. As for the second pair, that one happened to be a mens shoe. It was durable as well, and very comfortable. It stood out to me, and I felt as though that was what most male prom attendees wanted. 

IMG_1982.JPG

Stemming back from years ago, I felt like it was always believed that a shoe had to be expensive. If it wasn’t expensive, people wouldn’t appreciate it. Now and days, I feel like the feeling should be the opposite. I could walk around with a $5 shoe, and my entire look can definitely be completed. If you believe in thrifting, and believe in managing your prom looks on a budget, I am for you. The Good Will has simply become my second home, & I feel like it can become yours as well. Just with a good eye, and patience, a shoe can be found. 

IMG_1985.JPG

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 11.29.49 AM.png

Al Green was born and raised in the state of New Jersey. He currently owns and operates Styling Stingy. Through that, he sells thrifted & vintage pieces promoting a stingy lifestyle. When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

Leave a Reply

