Spring Cleaning Tips: Closet & Wardrobe Cleaning

By Suma Kaul, thefabjunkie.com

Spring is the perfect time to get everything in gear. Out with the old, in with the new! Style and trends are always changing, so shouldn’t your wardrobe do the same?

Cleaning out your closet isn’t always the easiest task. We get attached to things, we think we’ll eventually fit into something and we hope it will eventually come back into style. We don’t live life that way, so the same idea should apply to our clothes! Check my tips for Spring Cleaning your closet!
The Fab Junkie Spring Cleaning Tips:
Background Noise:
I can’t do any type of cleaning if my apartment is quiet. I’ve been obsessing over The Golden Girls lately, so I let it play in the background. Even though I’ve seen every single episode, I still love it as background noise. If you rather music, create a playlist that will keep you moving and grooving.
Separate Clothing Into Piles:
Donate, Sell, Toss. Doesn’t have to be in that order but keep a visual of all the things you want to donate, sell or toss. The things I tend to donate are items that don’t fit. I’m not going to torture myself with “I’ll one day fit into this”. I rather give it a new home. The things I sell are more of my high-end items; bags, shoes and any name brands that are worth something. Toss anything that YOU wouldn’t wear yourself. For example, if you don’t want to wear that tank with the stain on it, no one else will.
SpringCleaninCloset1
One Year Rule:
This one kind of goes with the tip above BUT it needs to be in its own category because it’s REALLY important. Listen to me very carefully, IF YOU HAVEN’T WORN IT IN A YEAR, TOSS IT.  You may think to yourself that you will eventually wear it, but if you haven’t in a year- trust me you wont.
SpringCleaningCloset2
Storage Bins and Containers:
Store seasonal items like sweaters and heavy coats. Keep light sweaters for cold spring nights. The storage bins are a nice way to keep your clothes organized. I use big bins, which I’ve found for about 7 bucks to keep my shoes in also. You can basically store anything in them and they keep things you don’t need out of sight.
The More The Merrier:
Grab an honest friend and get the closet cleaning party started. I say “honest” because they will tell you when it’s time to get rid of something.
Happy Spring Cleaning!
sumaagoodlookbiopic
Suma Kaul is a NYC-based fashion, beauty and lifestyle blogger from TheFabJunkie.com. She loves thrifting and making something old new again. 

When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

Leave a Reply

