Wedding Ready with TheFabJunkie

Save the Date for Goodwill’s One of a Kind Bride sale. Wedding gowns starting at $69.99. Bridesmaids, Mother of the Bride gowns also available. Join us: Saturday June 3rd, doors open at 9am and close at 9pm. RSVP: here *While supplies last. 

By Suma Kaul, thefabjunkie.com

I have a mini confession to make and warning, you may roll your eyes at me. Here we go…

When I was younger, I had this thing. It was a terrible thing and it was also a very expensive thing. Every time I attended an event or wedding, I had to wear a new dress.

If I was photographed in the dress, I wouldn’t wear it again. It became an expensive habit. Also, it wasn’t reasonable. So there, that’s my confession. I’m currently at that age where all my friends are getting married, having babies or setting up house warmings. That’s a LOT of dresses. The other thing is that I wouldn’t buy quality dresses. The majority of the time, I shopped in fast fashion stores where the dresses would eventually not be “in style”.  Thrift and second-hand stores allow me to stay fresh and new at each event I have. I’ve found dresses at Goodwill from $7.99 to no more than $20 and THAT’S with tags on. You can make lemonade out of someone else’s lemons! Ok, maybe that was a bit dramatic. But you get it.

With wedding season in full swing you’re going to want to keep an eye out for some new (to you) dresses at your local thrift shop. I attended a wedding early in October and was extremely lucky to find the perfect dress in my local Goodwill. I was stressed out about what I was going to wear and it needed to match my boyfriend’s suit. There it was, just staring at me in all its glory. The tag said J Crew and my heart said “YES”. Here’s a picture of me wearing it at my friend’s wedding with the bride.

unknown

unknown-2

I’ve found so many cute dresses. The picture below is a dress I found at the Goodwill in Brooklyn after their fashion show earlier this year. The dress was about $8- it had long sleeves and it wasn’t even my size. I bought it and took it to my tailor, had him shorten the sleeves, I added a thin belt and I wore it to my best friend’s baby shower (sorry I didn’t take any pictures that day) BUT check out the dress below!

unknown-3

You never know what you’ll find so when you’re planning your outfit for your next event, stop in Goodwill and see if anything catches your eye! Until next time….

sumaagoodlookbiopic
Suma Kaul is a NYC-based fashion, beauty and lifestyle blogger from TheFabJunkie.com. She loves thrifting and making something old new again. 

 

 

 

When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

Leave a Reply

