Trend Watch: 5 Things To Look For While Thrifting with TheFabJunkie

 

With the changing of the weather, I know everyone is switching over to his or her Fall/Winter wardrobe.

If you’re like me, you’re still layering your summer tanks with cardigans. Either way, it’s cool. No pressure. With the fun of thrift shopping, adding new trends can be easy and affordable.  Like every fashion lover, I want to be in on all the new trends and make sure I have a few handy in my closet. I put together a list to help you while you’re out Thrifting. There are tons of new trends and styles floating around the Internet and it’s not about quantity, it’s quality. Pick the trends that work with your aesthetic. You can always work out of your comfort zone but make sure you’re being your true to your style. Check out my list of on-trend items to be on the look out for.

 

Matching Sets: It’s not your average tracksuit I’m thinking of. When shopping for matching sets, you want to find something that can work together and separately. This is a trend that you can make your own, in a matter of minutes. The pieces work together seamlessly or they can be pulled apart for outfit #2.

 

Unknown-2.jpeg

 

Velvet: Is it just me or do you envision Prince in purple when you think Velvet? This fabric is the “it” fabric this season. It’s versatile for night or day and just makes sense. When shopping, look for pieces that can be worn day or night.

 

Unknown.jpeg

 

Patchwork: If you can’t find fun patchwork items at your local goodwill, don’t sweat it. Here’s what you CAN do- find a pair of high-waisted vintage denim and add your OWN patches. There are so many sites that sell patches that can be ironed on or sewed (if you’re crafty) for cheap. Jazz up your denim or jackets for nearly nothing.

 

Oversized Cardigans: I mean, this is a given. Who doesn’t want to wear an oversized sweater that you can just swim in on a cold day? I know I do! I love shopping for vintage like cardigans in my local thrift store. I’ve also “borrowed” a lot of cardigans from my grandma. Yes, you can shop them brand new BUT trust me when I say, the quality is very different than the ones from back in the day. The shape, the texture, and the fit are what I’m talking about. You want big and loose fitting.

Tailored School Girl: Yes, chocker’s, flannels and high-waisted are in BUT there’s one 90’s inspired trend that no one is really discussing. I’m talking Blair Waldrof Gossip Girl early days. School Girl all the way. When doing the school girl look, you want to find pieces like varsity sweaters or even the trusty old “school girl skirt”. What’s fun about Goodwill is that these are items that they may carry. People donate old uniforms and sweaters all the time, so keep an eye out!

Unknown-1.jpeg

sumaagoodlookbiopic
Suma Kaul is a NYC-based fashion, beauty and lifestyle blogger from TheFabJunkie.com. She loves thrifting and making something old new again. 

When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too. Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

Leave a Reply

