Discovering Day & Dusk: This Week on Inside the Prop Closet

A few days ago, I started experimenting with painting rocks that I found outside. It’s just a little color blocking with acrylic paint and painter’s tape, but I love the results. Though an incredibly simple concept, there’s a poem in the process somewhere – in Mother Nature being dipped in black. I don’t have the words just yet. Maybe they’ll come later. Or maybe they’ll be given to someone else. Maybe to you?

Serendipitously, the color of the rocks complemented two pair of pants that I found at the thrift store this week. For me, finding pants that I like and that fit well, in any store, is akin to finding a unicorn. I know it’ll be a rare sighting, but I have hope. And when I do spot something with true potential, I whisper a quick word of thanks to the magical powers that be.

Finding not one but two pair in the same shopping session? Well, that’s unicorn heaven.

The first pair of pants are simple slim-fit, grey joggers. Though jeans are my wardrobe staple, I’m really growing into a joggers kind of guy. They’re comfy, stylish and great with boots. For me, this look is perfect for sunny strolls, morning picnics and unexpected Sunday brunch dates. Let’s call this the Day look.

Pro Tip: Rolling up shirt sleeves or pant legs just a little bit instantly makes them look cooler.

 
Image2
 
Anticipating dusk’s debut, the vintage pair of high-waist, pleated pants I found provide a chic transition. I adore any pant with a high waist, especially when they have a tapered leg opening. The faded grey color on these are well suited for casual dinners, conversations over red wine and poetic reflections over sunset. Fittingly, we’ll call this the Dusk look.
 
Image1.jpg
 
So, there it is and there they were: two pair of pants, one for a new mood. What unicorns are waiting to match your mood? There’s only one way to find out: Visit your nearest Goodwill ASAP. 

072115_Selfie

David Leon Morgan is a Bronx-based creative storyteller and crafter. He loves to crochet, sing extremely loudly in the shower and help others share their story in creative ways. Learn more about him and his work at http://davidleonmorgan.com

When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

 

Leave a Reply

