Crafting as a Form of Healing: This Week on Inside the Prop Closet

Last week, I unexpectedly fell in love with making tassels. They’re so easy to make – all you need is yarn, a thick, rectangular piece of something to wrap the yarn around, an embroidery needle and scissors. They look so charming on so many things: pillows, keychains and, in my case, apartment walls.

Image2.5[1]

I went to the thrift store to pick up the yarn I used to make the tassels. While there, I also picked up a used scented candle. I’ve never purchased a candle from the thrift store before, but why not? It has a great scent – might as well put it to good use.

And I bought a shoe rack for two bucks. I really needed one.

Image3[1]

It’s amazing how the smallest things, like tassels, a candle or a shoe rack, can be just the things to make your day a little more serene. I’m a huge advocate for crafting as a form of meditation or emotional healing. I should add thrifting to the list of meditative activities to do, too. Thoughtfully buying inexpensive essentials that contribute to societal good and reduce material waste certainly goes a long way.

Interested in making your own tassels? I followed this tutorial. Happy crafting – and thrifting!

 

072115_SelfieDavid Leon Morgan is a Bronx-based creative storyteller and crafter. He loves to crochet, sing extremely loudly in the shower and help others share their story in creative ways. Learn more about him and his work at http://davidleonmorgan.com

 

 

 

When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

Leave a Reply

