Taking Creative Risks: This Week on Inside the Prop Closet

Light Rays

 
062416_Image2
 

I consider myself a creative risk taker, one who’s always curious about learning and experiencing new things. But like anyone, it’s easy for me to fall into comfortable habits, including within my creative inclinations.

For instance, I love playing around in Photoshop, but there are challenging components of the software that I’m afraid to tackle. Compositing, which is the art of combining different photographic elements into a single image, is particularly scary for me. Normally, I stay in the safe realms of lighting, color correcting and the occasional spot removal. But this week, I decided to push past my safe zones and challenge myself. It’s the only way to grow, right?

 

062416_ImageOnev2
At the thrift store a few days ago, I found a beautiful, pyramid-shaped jewelry holder for just a few dollars. It inspired me to create a sort of intergalactic photo. For the compositing work, I did quick Google and YouTube searches to find this image and this image. An hour or so (plus a few mild anxiety attacks) later, and voila! The beauty above was born.

It can be scary to try new things, but incorporating thrifted finds in your adventure lets you take risks without breaking the bank. What’s one thing you want to learn to do, but are afraid to try? Now is a great time to push fear aside and give it a go.

062416_Image3

 

When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Because your purchases support Goodwill’s programs and services, and 92 cents of every dollar earned supports our mission. Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

 


072115_SelfieDavid Leon Morgan is a Bronx-based creative storyteller and crafter. He loves to crochet, sing extremely loudly in the shower and help others share their story in creative ways. Learn more about him and his work at http://davidleonmorgan.com
 

Leave a Reply

