Inside the Prop Closet with David

Welcome to our new series, Inside the Prop Closet, with our new blogger David Leon Morgan! He’s a creative entrepreneur, photographer and all-around incredible artist who sees inspiration everywhere. Check back every Friday for his latest adventures in thrifting and sourcing fabulous props for his photography studio from his fave local thrift — Goodwill NYNJ!

Photography, Poetry & Passion

Image1

I only had a few dollars to spend; being a full-time creative entrepreneur allows for rare splurges. Luckily, a beautiful thing about thrift store shopping is that creativity is often more valuable than money. And for an artist, creativity is the greatest tool there is.

So with my few dollars, I went to find little, essential somethings at my nearest thrift store. Years of owning too much stuff makes shopping trips a careful adventure, though. I only want to buy things I really love.

Luckily, this recent trip uncovered three lovely things: A denim vest, a printed baseball cap and a book of poetry by Stephen Dobyns.

 

Image4

Not only are these finds perfect additions to my wardrobe and book collection, they also make great photography props. For this reason, they’ll especially come in handy: I’m slowly carving out a tiny space for a photo studio in my tiny apartment. Right now, the nook is just a simple backdrop, select lighting equipment and basic camera tools. But my dream is to fill it with more creative props – fodder for endless imaginative happenings.

 

Image3

Goodwill is the perfect destination for imaginative props. Enter with an open heart – you never know what you’ll find. Buy selectively but adventurously. Think beyond what something is, and instead on what it could be.

And stay tuned to this blog, as each week I’ll share the things I find to add to my studio, and to things collection of things that articulates my poetic spirit, my creative passion and my unique place in the world.

 

Image2_Version3

Follow me on social, too: Instagram, Twitter, Tumblr and Facebook.

 

When you #ShopGoodwill , not only will you look good, you’ll feel good, too! Because your purchases support Goodwill’s programs and services, and 92 cents of every dollar earned supports our mission. Head here to find GoodwillNYNJ store locations near you!

 

072115_Selfie

David Leon Morgan is a Bronx-based creative storyteller and crafter. He loves to crochet, sing extremely loudly in the shower and help others share their story in creative ways. Learn more about him and his work at http://davidleonmorgan.com 

Leave a Reply

