MRS. T’S KITCHEN

I had a wonderful time during the month of February celebrating Black History Month – this was the first year that I really had the chance to embrace some of the amazing activities that were organized in our area.

One of the last events to celebrate this month of recognition of African-Americans was The Plummers’ Kitchen at the Riversdale House Museum in Riverdale Park, Maryland, which took place on February 28, 2016. An open hearth (cooking over an open wood fire) was used to demonstrate the preparation foods that were typically made by Adam Francis Plummer, a former slave who later was able to purchase land in the Hyattsville, Maryland area. Of course, you will not find an open hearth in my modern kitchen, but much like in the historical Plummers’ kitchen, you will find plenty of hard work, love and patience. So, while I normally share my closet with you here on A Good Look, this week I’ll be sharing my kitchen – Mrs. T’s kitchen.

mrs-ts-kitchen-thrifted-items

My neighbors know that once a week, usually on Friday or Saturday, they can come by and hear the sounds of my favorite music – the harmony of my pots and pans. It’s a great sound and I enjoy every moment of my weekly cooking marathon, which usually last 4-6 hours. My neighbors often speak of the aroma of different spices that seem to find its way through the cracks of their walls. For over 25 years, my chicken noodle soup has become a favorite for family, friends and neighbors. My closest neighbors and friends may hear me say: “when you’re finished with your roasted chicken, don’t forget to give me the chicken carcass”. You would be surprised at the huge pot of chicken soup that can be made from one little chicken.

Well, you may be wondering – what does this have to do with thrifting, exactly? Take a look back at my kitchen – at the beautiful coffee pot and accessories, the Emeril cookware, the colorful pitcher holding my utensils, the picture of workers tilling the land – every last one of those lovely pieces were all thrifted.

From my wardrobe to my kitchen to every corner of my cozy home, thrifting has become a part of every area of my life and I am delighted to be able to encourage you to search for your own beautiful bargains and one-of-a-kind pieces at your own local thrift stores, like Goodwill. Like my time in the kitchen it may take a little time, effort and – most of all – patience. But it’s all worth it, because that special treasure (for your kitchen, closet, or wherever else) may be waiting for you at your local Goodwill.

Mrs. T

One thought on “MRS. T’S KITCHEN

Leave a Reply

