MRS. T’S CLOSET: Celebrating Black History Month

I am proud to be a part of the African-American culture. In honor of February, National Black History Month, I look forward to participating in the many celebrations that are planned in our area. African-American culture and history is rich and diverse, and often speaks through our food, music, dance, customs, hairstyles and clothing.

Thinking of the motherland, I included here two of my favorite casual, African-inspired outfits. I found them both while thrifting! I also found an amazing, handmade African carving. You can see it hanging on my wall in the pictures below.

side view cropped

 

Mrs. T frontal cropped

Thrifting is fun, however, here’s an important tip when encountering something that may have historical or cultural significance, like African clothing:

Be careful to appreciate the culture it comes from, and aim to respect the item’s true intent.

A lot of history is woven in African clothing. Many pieces, including the symbols and colors chosen for it, play a key part in the traditions and customs they originate from. When I find something with meaning that I love, I strive to better understand its value and history before wearing or decorating with it. Admittedly, I still have a lot to learn.

Unexpected treasures await you, so keep having fun while thrifting, but remember to appreciate the wealth of history you may discover too.

 

One thought on “MRS. T’S CLOSET: Celebrating Black History Month

Leave a Reply

