@PlanetBrandee – NEW Millennials and Thrifting Part 2

Special Report Series – Julie Ann Earls

JAEWelcome back to part 2 of @PlanetBrandee 4-part series on the millennial mindset and thrifting! With this continuing series, I’ll be looking at the changing face of an entire generation, from fashion and thrifting to eco-living and no trace left behind cultural mindset. Join me now as I chat with Goodwill loving millennials who have embraced the up-cycling lifestyle. I’ll interview performers, fashion designers and women in tech who love vintage. We’ll be diving into what attracts so many people to the NEW millennial mindset and shopping secondhand.

My second interview is with Julie Ann Earls, a New York City-based millennial actress and singer who performs in video, TV and stage. Like Jeremy from Part 1 of my series, she’s also a creative person who frequents Goodwill and other secondhand sources, so let’s chat with her now about her experiences.

@PlanetBrandee: Julie, first, thank you for taking some time today to chat with me about the millennial mindset, and the importance of it to you! Let’s start off with: What does it mean to you to be a millennial?

@JulieAnnEarls: Thank you for having me Brandee! Well, I think being a millennial means that I am part of a generation of young people whose entrance into “adult life” is somewhat extraordinary compared to that of past generations. With the boom of the Internet, social media, and intelligent technology, it feels like there are more opportunities and possibilities for young people like me than ever before. I can learn how to julienne a carrot by pulling up a video on YouTube (I don’t know how I’d learn to cook if it wasn’t for YouTube!). I connect with someone across the world by the click of a button on Facebook. I track my fitness through a device I wear like a wristwatch. Past generations did not have this kind of access. On the flipside, I think we are still figuring out how to handle this deluge of information. Should 1st graders have iPhones? How can we decrease our carbon footprint? I also think that with great power comes great responsibility.Those in my generation sometimes use these advances for the better, but unfortunately, sometimes for the worst too. I feel a great responsibility to use these advances for good.

@PB: Very insightful. It’s a double-edged sword in many ways in accessibility vs. availability. Given that, what about up-cycling and thrifting appeal to you?

@JAE: I am one of those people who hates to waste things. I hate throwing out food and I try to print double-sided whenever I can. Upcycling and thrifting is great because products and clothes are reused or made into something else that is useful. Sometimes it’s overwhelming to think of all the landfills that have items that are in perfectly fine condition to be reused or recycled into something else. Also, I mean … if I find a fashionable vintage piece in a thrift store, my cool factor goes up like 100 points.

@PB: Yes! Tiny little things are often easier to implement with regularity than big steps, each action helps though, and waste is a huge problem, as is conspicuous consumption. Moving forward, what would you say you’re passionate about?

@JAE: I am passionate about connecting with people. I feel best when I am able to express myself and, in turn, listen to others with my whole heart. I am a singer and actor, and I love to connect with audiences through song and/or through embodying a human experience. I also teach group fitness classes and I enjoy so much giving students the personal attention and care they deserve.

@PB: Music is the universal language, and I love hearing people who dive into that sort of expression. Speaking of expression, if there was one thing about your generation you wish people could know, what would it be?

@JAE: In many ways, I think we are more compassionate than people think, though it may seem that millennials are a group of people who are socially more isolated and distant than ever. We are able to take part in local, national and even global conversations through the Internet. We share our life experiences and learn about life experiences different from our own more than ever before. That can build great compassion for others. It is with that awareness that we can make more informed choices.

@PB: I have to say I feel the same way. The selfie generation is by far the most technically connected, but emotionally unavailable group so far, and on the same hand, at least from personal experience, they’re far more active givers/social listeners. It’s going to be a trek to getting that mingled given our audience reach and armchair activism. But the first steps starts with us! Julie, thank you so much for sharing your outlook and experiences!

@JAE: Thank you!

Join me next week as I continue this 4-part series on the millennial mindset! I’ll be interviewing some fantastic characters here across the country, and right here in New York City, all of whom use Goodwill and secondhand to infuse their sustainable and eco lifestyle. Love the buzzword of millennial? Have feedback? Or just score an amazing #Goodwill find? Let me know! And follow my fashion, food and travel treks on Twitter and Instagram @PlanetBrandee – till next time, see you on the streets!!

To find a Goodwill Store near you, click here.

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

Leave a Reply

