@PlanetBrandee – NEW Millennials and Thrifting

JMikush_Piano EtcSpecial Report Series – Part 1

Welcome to a new four-part @PlanetBrandee series on the millennial mindset and thrifting. According to the most recent White House report, it’s a fact that millennial’s now represent the largest group in the United States, comprising roughly one-third of the total population. They’re also one of the most diverse, educated and dynamic group in generations. In my new series, we’ll be looking at the changing face of an entire generation, from fashion, thrifting, to eco-living and no trace left behind cultural mindset.

Join me now through July as I interview and chat with Goodwill loving millennials who have embraced the upcycling lifestyle. From performers, fashion designers and women in tech who love vintage, we’ll be diving into what attracts so many people to the NEW millennial mindset and shopping secondhand.

My first interview is with Jeremy Mikush, a Los Angeles based millennial artist and musician working in experimental showcases and live stage performances. His work has been seen all over the globe, from TV to stage. As a creative person he frequents Goodwill and other secondhand sources to develop and make his mind-blowingly colorful costumes and apparel.

@PlanetBrandee: Jeremy, firstly, thank you for taking some time today to chat with me about the millennial mindset and the importance of it to you.

Jeremy Mikush: Thank you Brandee! I love your travel blog and the chance to share new ideas. As to your question on being millennial, to me, it’s having a sense of bringing something truly advanced. Whether it’s through futurist design or an evolving sense of right, it’s time to move forward at a consciously-felt pace with the highest good intentions.

@PB: Agreed. It’s really intriguing how thrifting for me became about recognizing my personal consumption and use of items from a social perspective. Whether clothing or wares, it makes you think “do I really need this?” And that’s relevant now, more than ever.”

JM: Yes, it’s about using what’s available. It’s about sustainability and testing one’s creativity to make something meaningful out of what someone else has already experience. Whether clothing, shoes, or accessories, one can make something unique with it.

PB: Speaking of meaningful, what are you passionate about? What has meaning for you as a millennial?

JM: I’m passionate about love, and I’m passionate about the dynamic balance of individualistic journey and the collective flux-music, harmonious sights and sounds; I love opera and multimedia music-based theater. I love color, light, nature…I’m passionate about human challenges and triumphs of the global human community.

PB: Speaking of journey, you’re a performing artist who has worn many hats-what was your greatest thrifted asset for that work?

JM: I think of myself as someone who does performance. It’s about getting hot deals. So if I thrift some amazing pieces, I save so much money and they have a story behind them. Beautiful vintage jewelry can be so wonderful too—I love strange earrings that look like eyes. One thing that I’m proud of most at the moment: Vintage 1940s mint green toeless pumps with bows on the front. They are sexy and indestructible!

PB: Mint vintage anything sounds fabulous! I’ve found some incredible vintage finds at Goodwill. So, shopping fun aside, what would you say is the greatest challenge for you as a millennial?

JM: Millennials are challenged by a dualism: They are info-smart but sometimes experience-poor. Millennials in the cities are stuck on their technology in hopes of not divulging vulnerability and being looked down upon. We seem to be an awkward mix of nerdy and cool in the cities. I think in small towns and other countries not the U.S., there are many exceptions to this observation, but the group between 18 and 36year-olds are struggling with how to be truly themselves throughout their 20s and into their 30s. Upcycling and thrifting are the easiest ways those in the cities and burbs can attend to our sustainability. I’d say: Move from the creativity we have with thrifting into your home, garden, and use of daily resources. Be conscious of the food you buy and do your best to eat those leftovers. Create those greywater gardens with organic soil and veggies on your stoops and rooftops. Creativity will save the world!

PB: Wise words, reuse, recycle and in general, being a mindful person is a great outlook, especially for lovers of Goodwill and other second hand outlets. Thank you so much for sharing your outlook and experiences.

JM: Thank you, and have fun thrifting!

Join me next week as I continue this 4 part series on the millennial mindset! I’ll be interviewing some fantastic characters here across the country, and right here in New York City, all of whom use Goodwill and secondhand to infuse their sustainable and eco lifestyle. Love the buzzword of millennial? Have feedback? Or just score an amazing #Goodwill find? Let me know! And follow my fashion, food and travel treks on Twitter and Instagram @PlanetBrandee – till next time, see you on the streets!!

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

Leave a Reply

