Can You Shop Out of the Corner of Your Eye?

Last week, I took my Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) students to the Chelsea Goodwill Boutique. The field trip was a study in comparison and contrast as well as an opportunity to teach them the beautiful things you find when thrifting. As I spoke to my students about identifiable marks of vintage and determining thrift from vintage, I saw a very pretty print out of the corner of my eye. That’s the thing, I sort of have radar-like vision when I’m shopping and nothing beautiful gets away from me. I wasn’t even in the mood to buy, I was really in educator mode and well, I honestly can’t do both at the same time. Or so I thought.

Betsey Johnson silk dressThis Betsey Johnson silk multi-print number is what we thrifters like to call a Gold Mine. It is a very one-of-a-kind, made by a well-known designer, it is in pristine condition and is composed of great print and fabric – jackpot! Although, it wasn’t vintage, I give it no more than four years max since it hit retail, the dress was still a great purchase.

“You can find a great buy anywhere, just open the corner of your eye and watch all the amazing pieces that come to you,” I explained to my students.  

Native New Yorker Shaunya is the owner and curator of VintageShaun, a collection of vintage clothing with a contemporary vision that has been featured in NBC’s The Today Show. She is a longtime Goodwill fan and style expert. Last May, Shaunya collaborated in Goodwill’s Spring Fling the Excess, our Earth Day/spring cleaning promotion. Most recently, she styled models for Goodwill Suits You, a fashion show to mark October, National Disability Employment Awareness month.

You may also read her blog: www.vintageshaun.com or follow her on Twitter @vintageshaun

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

Latest Where The Goodwill Goes Post:
Goodwill and Edge4Vets Help U.S. Veterans Find Work

Follow us on our Website Facebook Twitter Instagram

 

One thought on “Can You Shop Out of the Corner of Your Eye?

Leave a Reply

