Patrice J. Williams: Why I Penned a Book on Thrifting

Patrice Williams HeadshotThrift shopping is pretty awesome. I mean, you’re a Good Look reader so you know this already. But for some shoppers, thrifting is a world of mystery. From where to shop, how to find the best deals and what’s worth buying, the inevitable question is “how do you thrift shop?”
Looking Fly on a Dime cover
 
That’s why I decided to write the book on thrifting: Looking Fly on a Dime: How to Find Fabulous Fashion at Any Thrift Shop & Make the Cheap Look Chic I’ve been a thriftaholic for 10+ years, so it only made sense that I break down the ins and outs of such an economical and eco-friendly source of fashion.
 
As the blogger behind Looking Fly on a Dime, I showcase my thrifty style and I’ve had readers ask me a ton of questions about how I find vintage and designer goods for just a few bucks. I took all of those questions (and a ton of other info!) and included them in my book.
 
The book is broken up in three easy parts:

Part One: Preparing for Your Visit

The most common question I get is, “how do you find a thrift shop? Well, I answer this and so much more in part one. Also, I include ways on determine the best days to go for savings on top of savings.
 

Part Two: Strategizing As You Shop

Instead of being overwhelmed once you reach the secondhand store, it’s all about shopping smarter and efficiently. I share the strategies I use to attack the racks and find the best deals.
 

Part Three: Sanitizing & Styling

“But isn’t thrift shopping dirty?” Absolutely not! I suggest easy ways you can sanitize your thrifty threads. And I wrap it up with styling tips to make garments look expensive and like they were made just for you. This final section is where I share the tips I use when putting together my own outfits and when I’m styling models for on-air style segments.
 
As a frequent Goodwill shopper, I mention some of my favorite finds from the shops and I give a special shout out to the Goodwill Outlet where clothes are priced by the pound. When people ask me about my favorite thrift shops in NYC that are actually affordable, the Outlet is always at the top of the list.
 
For more of my favorite stores and how to become a master at thrift shopping, you can purchase a copy of Looking Fly on a Dime: How to Find Fabulous Fashion at Any Thrift Shop & Make the Cheap Look Chic here.
Patrice J. Williams is a NYC-based writer and on-air style expert who has appeared on the Today Show, Nate Berkus Show, WE tv and New York’s Pix 11 news where she was the station’s first Savvy Shopper reporter. Her motto is “your style is never determined by your wallet.” As the creator of Looking Fly on a Dime, Patrice dishes advice for the everyday woman and makes fashion accessible for all. She’s an avid thrift shopper and even created a Thrifty Threads 365 challenge where she only thrift shops for an entire year.

Follow Patrice on InstagramTwitter, and Facebook for thrift shopping tips and follow the hashtag #ThriftyThreads365 to stay up to date on her challenge. 

You can find daily thrift and fashion posts at Looking Fly on a Dime.

 

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

WANT TO WIN A $25 GOODWILL GIFT CARD?
CLICK HERE!

Latest Where The Goodwill Goes Post:
Goodwill Offers Free English Classes this Fall

Follow us on our Website Facebook Twitter Instagram

One thought on “Patrice J. Williams: Why I Penned a Book on Thrifting

Leave a Reply

