New York Fashion Week is for Everyone

I (heart) FashionNew York Fashion Week is a bi annual pilgrimage of lovers of fashion and creators.

Before I knew where my career would lead me, I attended a show and refer to it as my ‘come to Jesus’ moment. I crashed, but I did it in the most professional way a sixteen year old could do. Sorry, I am not going to disclose how I was able to get into the show but, I will save that amazing story for another post or possibly my memoirs. What I can tell you is that the connection I had in those brief fifteen minutes of my life and how I am still moved by the fourth dimension more than a decade later, shows what a good fashion show can do to you.

I’m jaded; I’ve been working in this industry for over ten years. As I tell my colleagues, we are not curing a disease; we are using clothing as a medium nothing more nothing less. However, a fashion show can be an experience that even the anti-fashion person can appreciate at its most primal form.

Maybe it’s the catwalk that is a little shorter than a football field. Or the theatrical lights perfectly timed with the pulsating rhythm and heavy music that provides the right beat for the models to sashay into the pool of photographers wearing the trends dictated for the next season. Who wouldn’t be moved by the silence and visual artistry of a designer’s blood sweat and tears as they present their best work to be both critically and commercially successful?

You don’t have to be rich to embrace Fashion Week, being in tune to trends and what’s next is not only for those with deep pockets. The trends you see on the runway from high end designers are quickly copied by more affordable brands as part of the democratization of fashion. So whether a Kardashian can wear the exact designer, you can get your version at a major chain and if you are even more fashion savvy you would have the vintage version which would out you ahead of the fashion pack.

With the digital age, the ability to catch a designer show is easily accessible to all. Before the last model walks out, you can catch stills online and many designers actually provide live streaming of their shows. Fashion Week is for everyone and if you stay tuned to next week’s post, find out how to truly incorporate fashion week into your own life.

Native New Yorker Shaunya is the owner and curator of VintageShaun, a collection of vintage clothing with a contemporary vision that has been featured in NBC’s The Today Show. She is a longtime Goodwill fan and style expert. Last May, Shaunya collaborated in Goodwill’s Spring Fling the Excess, our Earth Day/spring cleaning promotion. Most recently, she styled models for Goodwill Suits You, a fashion show to mark October, National Disability Employment Awareness month.

You may also read her blog: www.vintageshaun.com or follow her on Twitter @vintageshaun

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

Latest Where The Goodwill Goes Post:
MakeSpace Continues Collection Drive for Goodwill Through End of the Year

Follow us on our Website Facebook Twitter Instagram

 

One thought on “New York Fashion Week is for Everyone

Leave a Reply

