A GoodCombo: The High-Low Dress

Her Campus styles this high-low dress perfect for a day on the beach!
Her Campus styles this high-low dress perfect for a day on the beach!

In the summer I live in dresses. Whether I’m rushing out to work or waking up for a lazy day on the beach, a dress is easy and comfortable to throw on. Maybe it’s because I’m a little bit of a free spirit, or maybe because I hate pants, but I would wear a dress everyday.

I’m also all about that day-to-night style. With a statement maxi, casual slip-dress or night-time party dress, I can always find a creative way to style my favorite piece for a versatile look. 

One of my favorite summer dress styles is the high-low dress. With it’s ‘mullet-like’ short in the front/long in the back style, this dress is the perfect way to make a statement.

This pin from Dave L. is a perfect example of a statement high low dress!
This pin from Dave L. is a perfect example of a statement high-low dress!

The high-low dress style originated in the Victorian era when it was referred to as the fishtail style. The elegant style featured a long tiered train in the back and a simpler cut in the front. Over the years, the “fishtail” gown transformed into a more drastic look. Some high-low looks feature bare legs in the front with completely covered ones in the back, and others have minor length differences. 

My favorite part about the high-low dress is that it makes you stand out. The style challenges the traditional dress silhouette so it’s sure to make everyone look twice. As a fashion lover I’m always looking for eccentric styles. It’s easy to find pieces that are “cute” but for me it’s more fun to find the ones that are different aka the ones that make you feel confident AND trendy.

Today I needed a look that could quickly transform from the workplace to a concert. After work I’m going to see Billy Joel at Madison Square Garden with my family so I needed something that was appropriate for an internship and also appropriate for a night out with my family. 

I love this high low + blazer combo from Lauren Wong on Pinterest. A perfect day-to-night look!
I love this high-low + blazer combo from Lauren Wong on Pinterest. A perfect day-to-night look!

My high-low dress was the perfect choice. I paired a flowy floral dress with a black blazer and long gold necklace for my intern style. Then later tonight, I’ll take off the jacket and put my hair in a high bun for a chicer nighttime look. One dress, two looks; it’s so easy!

Next time you’re looking for something a little different to wear for any occasion think about investing in a high-low dress. You can stop by your nearest Goodwill retail shop to thrift around for the perfect one for your style at a low price.

How will you rock this fun summery trend?

____________________

Alyssa Raiola is a Journalism student at Northwestern University where she spends her time writing for campus publications, searching for new restaurants, and picking the perfect Instagram filters. Although she loves jogging along Lake Michigan and exploring the Windy City, her heart lies back home in New Jersey where pizza is the right shape and bagels are a delicacy. This summer, she’s back in the Big Apple interning and blogging with Goodwill Industries before she heads off to Seville, Spain to study abroad for the fall semester.

____________________

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

Latest Where The Goodwill Goes Post:
Thrifty-Teens Visit Goodwill!

Follow us on our Website Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest

Leave a Reply

