A GoodWeekender Bag

Happy 4th of July everyone!

I hope you are taking the time off today to celebrate with your friends and family and to spend some time outside! This year, we are lucky enough that the holiday falls on a Friday, so many of you will be able to get away for a 3 day weekend!

I’ll be spending the holiday weekend with some sandy toes and sun-kissed hair. In Long Branch, NJ with my family. I can’t wait to finally get some relaxation time!

Something else I love about going to the beach is rocking my favorite beach-style clothing. Although I do love wearing my cute intern essentials that I mentioned in my last post, there is nothing better than walking out the door in flip-flops and a chic sundress.

I always prefer being barefoot to wearing stilettos and maxi dresses to jeans so I love wearing beachy clothing any chance I get! Here are 3 essential items I know I’ll have in my weekender bag for my 4th of July trip:

1. Mix and Match Swim Suits

I love this pin from SWELL. The mixed pattern suit, tye-dye bag, and trendy fedora make for such a fun look!
I love this pin from SWELL. The mixed pattern suit, tye-dye bag, and trendy fedora make for such a fun look!

When I go to the beach I always throw in almost all the swimsuits I own. I don’t feel guilty about over packing since swimsuits fold up so tiny in my bag, plus I can have plenty of options for mix and match combinations! Don’t be afraid to pair two patterns together like this adorable stars and tribal mix we found on Pinterest!

2. Day to Night Dress

backless maxi
This pin from Lola Holmes captures the perfect day-to-night maxi style!

When you’re at the beach, everything is a little more casual. Sometimes you’ll spend the whole day on the sand and then go right into a cute little town for a nice dinner. I always love to have a simple dress I can wear over my bikini during the day and dress up for a sunset dinner at night! My perfect day to night dress for the beach is an open back maxi dress. Pair it with flip flops and wear your hair down in beachy waves during the day. Then, at night, pull your hair back to show off the back of the dress and pair it with some dangly earrings and cute wedges!

3. “Not to Beachy” Beach Bag

This pin from Nordstrom is the perfect sneaky beach bag. Cute on the beach and chic at night!
This pin from Nordstrom is the perfect sneaky beach bag. Cute on the beach and chic at night!

Beach-appropriate accessories are also a must for your holiday weekender bag! I love to pack a big beach-bag to throw all my magazines, sunglasses, and lotions in while I’m at the beach, but I also make sure it’s a bag I can use later in the day. On vacation my family is always on the go so we don’t always have time to stop at home before going out to eat. So, use a cute canvas tote like this Pinterest pick! Totes like this are a better option than large cloth bags or straw bags which are more obviously just for the beach. Now you can go from sandy-chic to nighttime-glam! 

All of these trends can be found at your local Goodwill store! Stop by the store nearest you on the way to your beach trip to treat yourself to a new beach-essential at a great price!

What’s in your weekender bag for your summer getaway trip?

____________________

Alyssa Raiola is a Journalism student at Northwestern University where she spends her time writing for campus publications, searching for new restaurants, and picking the perfect Instagram filters. Although she loves jogging along Lake Michigan and exploring the Windy City, her heart lies back home in New Jersey where pizza is the right shape and bagels are a delicacy. This summer, she’s back in the Big Apple interning and blogging with Goodwill Industries before she heads off to Seville, Spain to study abroad for the fall semester.

____________________

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

Latest Where The Goodwill Goes Post:
NYC Program Offers Free Summer Meals for Kids

Follow us on our Website Facebook Twitter Instagram

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

