PlanetBrandee Live from Seattle

PlanetBrandee LIVE from Seattle

Greetings my Goodwill readers! I’m so excited to write to you live this week from the hip and highly caffeinated streets of Seattle, Washington. My cross-country journey from highway to runway continues as I come to Seattle in search of the best food, lifestyle adventures, design and thrifting finds that 3 cups of coffee from Kaldi Bros can offer!

Cascina Spinasse

First stop: Fuel up for the fun at Cascina Spinasse. Listed as one of “Seattle’s Top 7 Restaurants” among other features by the Cooking Channel’s “Unique Eats,” I knew my insider track laid me on the right seat that evening. Given primo access at the reclaimed wooden bar setting, we dined on a delicious meal in classical Italian fashion. Fourteen-month-aged prosciutto de parma, lightly toasted mustard seeds, fig vinegar and divine glazed ambrosia apples. If the handmade artisanal bread doesn’t do you in, the friendly faces coming from the open-kitchen atmosphere will. It’s a “must-see” when in Seattle. But get reservations, you will need them.

thrifting in seattle

Second stop: Shopping OF COURSE! And where else to start but the motherload that is Seattle vintage. According to every fashion-forward person I questioned, the one, the only Goodwill. I was not disappointed after scouring every rack at the Seattle Goodwill: A glorious pair of vintage python cowboy boots? CHECK! A Vera Wang original dress for $24.99? Oh, hi there! I’m down here on the floor. I fainted in the dress department. Clean up on Aisle 9! There are designer labels everywhere. Thrifter ZEN. So maybe after hitting Goodwill I had to go back and get another bag checked with the concierge, I’m willing to pay the price of a carry on baggage for FASHION!

Theatre MarqueeMusic scene flyers

Rounding out my time in Seattle was a hit-and-run assortment of fantastic shops, ranging from the “Do-It-Yourself” vintage crowds at Lifelong Thrift Store to the YSL and Dior crowd at Sell Your Sole Consignment. It’s easy to get lost in labels when you shop in New York City. It was refreshing to see how locals mix highbrow pieces like Chanel with low brow donated Gap cutoffs. The eclectic, rainy-day wear was an inspiration!

Golden Dumpster Awards sparkle thrift dress

Time was running out, so I grabbed another cup of coffee, enjoyed a breezy drive through the surrounding area, high fived the Space Needle and hit the tarmac jettisoning back to NYC. But I had good reason to kiss and run on Seattle. I had a very special night waiting for me back in Manhattan: The Sustainability and Green Eco awards for local filmmakers and participating prop houses, which in Los Angeles are called “The Golden Dumpster Awards.” Hosted annually by Film Biz Recycling, and rolling in with a great group of ladies I’d had the pleasure of working with before, this event was held at the swanky Windfall and was a great chance to show off my other thrift find, a dress by designer NakiMuli. A golden, flashy glittery front, and a sweet zebra turquoise in the back to anchor it made this night celebrating the greening efforts of prestigious filmmakers Darren Aronofsky, the crew from NBC’s Smash and a laundry list of hundreds of other amazing people keeping film green a fabulous adventure worth the red eye flight back!

back to new york

Sure my arm hurts from the extra luggage, but the pain is eased with some local macarons and my new Ghana tribal print shoes I smuggled in from Apries Seattle, but one look at the weather here in NYC and it’s good to be home!

Join me next blog as my travel journeys from runway to highway continue in my search for the best food, fun and thrifting the world can offer! Till then, see you on the streets! Follow the adventures on Twitter and Instagram! #planetbrandee #fashion #NYC

Brandee Sanders is a writer, creative lifestyle and thrift enthusiast. Brandee’s work has been featured in Bill Cunningham’s New York Times style column, Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week, AOL and Time Out NY. Follow her runway meets the highway adventures and travels @PlanetBrandee 

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

Latest Where The Goodwill Goes Post:
Goodwill Walks to Raise Mental Health Awareness

Follow us on our Website Facebook Twitter Instagram

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “PlanetBrandee Live from Seattle

Leave a Reply

