Spring: A Season of Change and Renewal

Spring is a season of change, when the cold, grey cast of winter gets shook off in a colorful flurry of cherry blossom pinks, vivid violets and daffodil yellows. And like any good New Yorker accustomed to the shift, I must embrace the change too. It’s with a bitter sweet heart I’ve move onto a new, exciting role and say goodbye to the beautiful 72nd Street boutique. Although I am no longer a certifiable “Goodwill Insider”, fear not! I’m still here to keep you plugged into THE best in thrift, fashion and NYC lifestyle.

I’ll use this blog to take a retrospective look back at the fun fashion, events and journeys I’ve had supporting the amazing work Goodwill does each and everyday. Most recently, I was a part of a video segment which was shot on location at our Upper West Side 72nd Street boutique store in partnership with ReUseNYC and NY State. As you can see from the photos, having the chance to speak on camera in support of continuing sustainable education was wonderful, as was the crew who came to shoot. They met with all of our staff and took a great interest in how recycling and re-purposing the items we have donated to us allows us to keep the mission and programs at Goodwill going strong.

Each and everyday through staff, friends and those who participate and donate to Goodwill, I’ve had a chance to interact, learn and grow through the Goodwill mission. Whether spearheading the painting of a youth group mural, fun with Film Biz Recycling, local charities or the NYRR Marathon, it’s easy to get busy and forget that. But for that opportunity given, being grateful is an understatement. The memories and friendships will stay with me for a long long time, but even more so, so will this blog! Because now that my evenings and weekends are jostling for the lead, I hope you know this means MAJOR thrifting episode REVIVAL. On the 3rd Monday of each month I’ll be bringing you the best finds, killer digi lookbooks and absolutely mind blowing thrifting expeditions. Goodwill Shopping so good, you’ll need a full day to recover! 

From the runway to the highway I’ll be interviewing designers and people who love not only Goodwill, but the joy of sustainable fashion and the thrill of the thrift. So join me next month when I interview one of the finest vintage thrifters you may recognize from the Jazz Age Lawn Party on Governor’s Island, one of the loveliest vintage lovers in all of Manhattan, but shhh, for now, we’ll keep it our secret! So get excited to shop and enjoy the photos of all of those who made my journey at Goodwill so incredible.

Till next time, join me as I go from runway to highway in my adventurous quest all for the thrill of the thrift!

Brandee Sanders is a writer, creative lifestyle and thrift enthusiast. Brandee’s work has been featured in Bill Cunningham’s New York Times style column, Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week, AOL and Time Out NY. Follow her runway meets the highway adventures and travels @PlanetBrandee 

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

Latest Where The Goodwill Goes Post:
Bringing Art and Autism Together

Follow us on our Website Facebook Twitter Instagram

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

