Vintage Clothing is My Dream Come True

If you would have told me as a kid that I would have more fun searching for clothes older than me, I would have called you a freak. Well, fast forward some twenty plus years and my joy for thrift and my addiction to vintage clothes has led me to create a true passion project. This past weekend I launched the Vintage Shaun Pop Up Shop here in my hometown of Brooklyn. I’m excited to show the world how amazing vintage clothing can be.

I have used prior events to convert people into loving vintage clothes. Vintage is fashionable; one of a kind and it has a light carbon footprint. I can blog and blog until my face turns blue about all the wonderful powers of vintage clothing, but not until you feel, touch and try things on, will you realize vintage via thrifting is one of the easiest ways to make a fashion statement.

As I’ve mentioned before, my trips to local Goodwill have helped me amass my large collection of vintage clothing. There’s nothing like heading into Goodwill in the middle of vacation and walking out with a fabulous cocktail dress from the 1960s or a coat with someone’s initials sewn on the inside and the year it was available. What is old is new. Fashion, like music, is one of the most cyclic forms of expression. What better way to look on trend than to have an original?

Every piece has a story. As I edit which piece should be placed in the shop, I ponder how it made its way into my hands. Who felt that the piece I now consider a treasure was no trash? Was it for a person who no longer saw its value or was it too sentimental? As the saying goes, one man’s trash is another one’s treasure. This holds true especially with clothing.

Vintage Shaun Pop Up runs from March 1 to March 7th
12:00 pm – 7:00 pm everyday
110 Meserole Ave. Brooklyn, NY
Follow @vintageshaun on Instagram and Twitter for details

Native New Yorker Shaunya is the owner and curator of VintageShaun, a collection of vintage clothing with a contemporary vision that has been featured in NBC’s The Today Show. She is a longtime Goodwill fan and style expert. Last May, Shaunya collaborated in Goodwill’s Spring Fling the Excess, our Earth Day/spring cleaning promotion. Most recently, she styled models for Goodwill Suits You, a fashion show to mark October, National Disability Employment Awareness month.

You may also read her blog: www.vintageshaun.com or follow her on Twitter @vintageshaun

Your purchases support the mission of Goodwill.
To learn how we serve the community, please read our industry blog Where The Goodwill Goes

Latest Where The Goodwill Goes Post:
How Do You Give Back to Our Vets?

Follow us on our Website Facebook Twitter Instagram

2 thoughts on “Vintage Clothing is My Dream Come True

Leave a Reply

