My First Goodwill Experience

Last summer, before going back to school, News Channel 34 reporter Marissa Sarbak went on assignment to our Goodwill Store in Vestal NY. Marissa recounts her first time at a Goodwill store below:

“Sometimes as a college student, it’s really difficult to buy all of the clothes that you want. You really are living on a limited income, and you have to make choices. As a shopaholic, it’s always been tough for me to not blow an entire paycheck on a cute dress! So, needless to say, I was overjoyed about covering a story at the Goodwill in Binghamton, NY.

My name is Marissa Sarbak and I am a reporting intern for WIVT/WBGH News Channel 34. I’m currently a college student at SUNY Oswego, so as I said; I know what it’s like to live on a budget! I’m a Communication and Social Interaction major and an Economics minor. I’ve always been a fashionista, so when the News Director asked if I would like to cover a fashion story, I was very excited.

Fashion is a way of expressing yourself, whether it’s through brand name labels, or a designer you’ve never even heard of. Goodwill was an exciting find for me, because I’d never thought to go there before. When I went it, I was surprised to see that it was almost like a regular retail store. Everyone was very friendly, and I found some great clothes for my story! I even went back after I finished reporting to go buy some of the clothes that I had tried on. Overall, it was a great place and I will definitely be going back to find some more bargains!”

Watch the Channel 34 segment here

The Goodwill Vestal Store and Donation Center is located at Campus Plaza across the street from SUNY Binghamton.

Goodwill Vestal Store & Donation Center
3701 Vestal Parkway East; Vestal, NY 13850
P: (607) 797-3414
Hours: Mon-Sat 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. and Sun 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Leave a Reply

