Goodwill Gems: The OoLaLa! Purse

Though we’re officially into May (yay!), days of summer sunshine are still a ways away. But even if you’re back into the black, long pants and close-toed shoes for a little longer, there’s no reason you can’t add some oomph to your ensembles. Our columnist Lauren ducked into Goodwill for something fun to punch up her usual season-safe out. What did she find? This week’s Goodwill Gem: The OoLaLa! Purse.

Nothing is simpler, or more elegant, than a new-to-you handbag with clean lines and minimal details in a bright ruby hue.

A gorgeous bag is one of the easiest ways I know of to add instant style and polish to an otherwise average outfit. Luckily, this week at my local Goodwill store, I happened to locate just such a gem waiting for me among the piles of cute clothing and other great finds – this darling, scarlet purse that’s the perfect accessory to add punch to my cool (and warmer) spring looks.

In a classic combo of black and ivory, you’ll add a chic pop of style à la Coco Chanel when you throw this simple, structured, cherry-red handbag over your shoulder.

Against this neutral, oh-so-chic canvas, my stylish new bag will really pop!

Here, I’ve paired my pretty, graceful new bag with an unfussy yet feminine look. Simple, body-hugging black trousers are classic and perfect for the current weather, and can easily take me from work to play. A cropped, lacey ivory tee over an ivory tank adds texture and a trendy little touch to the outfit, without going overboard. A simple black cardigan keeps me warm when cool spring breezes blow or drizzle threatens, but can be easily taken off if the sun decides to show itself. Can you say très distingué?

What’s your go-to piece for an OoLaLa pick-me-up? Come tell us! Write about your fashion fun in the comments here, post a photo of a fav look on our Facebook page or send @GoodwillNyNj a tweet. GoodwillNyNj & I love seeing your style, so keep us posted!

4 thoughts on “Goodwill Gems: The OoLaLa! Purse

  1. I love adding a punch of color with a scarf, belt or statement jewelry. My outfit for today is red and white gingham, shirt via Goodwill – makes this dreary day a little brighter because it reminds me of a picnic – lol!

    Like

    1. Hi dedivahdeals – Gingham is a perfect feel-sunny go-to! We love you were able to find yours at our place. What’s your favorite Goodwill store?

      Like

      1. Hands down – Smyrna, DE. It’s awesome and I can’t wait to go back. Spent almost an entire morning with a girlfriend on 4/13. If you get a chance, check my Blog on the great finds.

        Like

      2. Sounds amazing! If you ever come our way, be sure to let us know. We’d love to hear your thoughts on our stores & see any finds you spot!

        Like

Leave a Reply

