Style Icon Interview: Exquisitus’ Natalie Rebuck

Ready, set, style, Goodwill fans: it’s time for Part 2 of our interview with GoodwillNyNj Style Icon Natalie Rebuck!

Natalie's favorite Goodwill find: a vintage sequined purse - just $10!

Last week, the fashionable femme behind Exquisitus Fashion gave us the skinny on classic film inspiration, how wallet shapes wardrobe and what defines our unique New York style. This week she’s breaking down big thrift mistakes, Zooey Deschanel admiration, and her joyful obsession with  Goodwill hunting.

What are the biggest mistakes people make when heading to their local Goodwill?

They feel overwhelmed and just walk away.  I think people feel intimidated with the racks and racks of clothes. I have tried in some of my posts explain to people how to dive in and come out with some great finds especially in my post a Guide to Patterns and Guide to Vintage Stores.  It’s on my to do list to do a post about Goodwill that will help with that overwhelming feeling!

Who do you wish would donate their entire wardrobe to a Goodwill near you? (Supermodels, big sisters, rock stars, and politicos are all fair game…)

Zooey Deschanel has amazing style and she always dresses in these vintage looking dresses. 

What’s your favorite Goodwill find? (If at all possible, we’d love a photo.)

There are so many I really am having a tough time narrowing it down but if I were forced to choose I found this beautiful vintage beaded purse recently for $10 which appears to be very old.  It’s beautiful, ornate, and only cost $10!!  (photo above)

Why do you shop at Goodwill?

At first it was out of necessity and now it is because I love it!  I was flat broke when I moved from Indiana to NYC after college to start working an architecture firm.  I started shopping at Goodwill to find vintage clothes or gently used clothes.  After a little while it became an obsession!!

Have you ever donated to Goodwill?

Absolutely.  I was just there on Saturday dropping off some books and home goods.

For nearly 100 years, GoodwillNyNj has been a pioneer of “reduce, reuse, repurpose.” Imagine: NY & NJ programs reaching as far back as 1915… If you could visit a Goodwill store in any 20th century decade & then travel back to 2011 with armloads of finds, which decade would you choose – and what would you hope to buy?

Oh my!! I would love to do that. I feel like it would be a land grab to get everything I could and bring it back with me.  If I could only choose one thing it would be a beautiful sequined evening dress from 1915.

*

Gilded Age gowns and beaded purses – count us in! We hope you enjoyed our time with Natalie as much as we did – and we’re curious to know your own thoughts on how to make the most of a thrifting trip. Come tell us on Twitter and Facebook – we love hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

