Style Icon Interview: Little Tree Vintage’s Maria Sideris

Get your style ready, Goodwill fans: it’s time for Part 2 of our interview with GoodwillNyNj Style Icon Maria Sideris!

Our newest GoodwillNyNj Style Icon, Maria Sideris!

In our last chat, this gorgeous-making vintage-loving gal shared on everyday inspiration, her favorite Goodwill, and just what she beelines to once she walks in those doors. on how to tackle your local secondhand shop. This time round, the Little Tree Vintage author shares her favorite Goodwill Gem and a very astute realization about the all-too-common thrifting mistake a person can make. Read on to see what she found… and what she’s learned not to do when she visits her local Goodwill:

What are the biggest mistakes people make when heading to their local Goodwill?

I think people expect to find the “perfect vintage items”, they want items to be their size, in perfect condition and be worth a lot of money. Unfortunately that’s not how things work. You have to keep in mind that vintage can be hard to find, and finding it in your size is even harder. A lot of items need alterations, and a lot of items need work.

Who do you wish would donate their entire wardrobe to a Goodwill near you? (Supermodels, big sisters, rock stars, and politicos are all fair game…)

I wish that Mary Kate & Ashley would donate their clothes to my local Goodwill, I love their fashion sense, and their clothing lines are always divine!

What’s your favorite Goodwill find?

My favorite Goodwill finds are my pin collection. They were all extremely affordable, and in such great condition. I show them off to everyone, they are perfect! Take a look:

We certainly can't fault our icon for wanting to show these beauties off - gorgeous find, Maria!

Why do you shop at Goodwill?

I shop at Goodwill because I know the money is going to a good place, and that people are benefiting from it. I shop there because I think it’s important to support business that are helping out the community, and helping out others in need.

Have you ever donated to Goodwill?

Of course! I donate all the time, whenever my closet gets cleaned out that’s where all my items go!

For nearly 100 years, GoodwillNyNj has been a pioneer of “reduce, reuse, repurpose.” Imagine: NY & NJ programs reaching as far back as 1915… If you could visit a Goodwill store in any 20th century decade & then travel back to 2011 with armloads of finds, which decade would you choose – and what would you hope to buy?

I would definitely choose the 50’s. I love all of the dresses and styles that came out of the era, and I still look for pieces like that when I do my shopping at thrift stores. There’s something about that era that is just very enchanting to me. I think everything was made with such great quality, and everything was beautiful with lots of color & applique. I would hope to find dresses that 50’s housewives wore, and lots of fancy shoes from that time!

*

Fifties gowns and a Tupperware Party – count us in! We hope you enjoyed our time with Maria as much as we did – and we’re curious to know your own thoughts on how to make the most of a thrifting trip. Come tell us on Twitter and Facebook – we love hearing from you!

One thought on “Style Icon Interview: Little Tree Vintage’s Maria Sideris

Leave a Reply

