Goodwill Gem: Quick Fix Halloween

Halloween is fast approaching (less than a week left to go!). While some of you have been perfecting your costume for months, others might be more like our columnist Lauren – a last-minute magpie. Still on the hunt for the perfect disguise, Lauren hits her local Goodwill for this week’s Goodwill Gem: the quick fix Halloween.

This fancy mask is fit for a black-tie masquerade ball, but it works just as well as the focal point for a costume for a more casual Halloween affair.

And if you’re anything like me, you generally wait until the very last minute to put a costume together. And, like me, perhaps you love dressing up and getting crafty, but don’t exactly have the funds to stop in at the nearest pop-up shop and drop $50 or $100 (or even more!) on an elaborate ensemble for this year’s festivities. So for fabulous Halloween on a dime, there really is only one place to go – your local Goodwill!

I got ever-so-lucky for the second year in a row when I snagged this week’s find. Last year, I found an outrageously huge and creepy witch hat that made all my fellow party-goers turn green with envy, and this year I’ll certainly make them wish once more that they had my spectacular style luck, because I managed to scoop up this over-the-top masquerade mask perfect for a spooky shindig!

The scrolling detail in metallic paint, the exaggerated bird-like features and the black, gold and cream color scheme make it a show-stopping centerpiece for a costume. And the simple (and adjustable) elastic strap that holds it over the wearer’s face makes it comfortable enough to party in all night long.

This mask is a particularly great costume find because it’s so versatile. Throw on a fancy frock (if you happen to just have one hiding in the back of your closet), and you’re instantly dressed for an old-world masquerade ball. Or, play up the bird-like features in the face and put on a solid top, leggings and a fab pair wings, and you’re ready to fly off to your first Halloween bash as an Edgar Allen Poe raven in no time! Whichever route you choose to go, in a fantastic mask like this one, you’re sure to be the center of attention at any costume party.

Easy as can be to put together (and without having to purchase a thing, aside from my new mask), this costume fits all my Halloween criteria – fast, cheap, easy and fabulous!

Here, I’ve pulled something together with whatever I had on hand, and I’ve chosen the bird-like look, though a massive set of wings are not something I keep hidden in my storage closet. So I decided to get a little creative and improvise!

Instead of real wings, I located a cropped black sweater with a feathery feel to it, and put it on with my favorite, stretchy, leathery black leggings and a solid tank…and voilà! With a pair of stellar high-heeled boots to finish off the look, I’m party ready! How much easier could it get?

How did you plan your costume – months of gathering or a quick fix spree? Tell me about it in the comments here, share a photo of the finished look on our Facebook page or send @GoodwillNyNj a tweet. GoodwillNyNj & I love seeing your style, so keep us posted! Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

